How do I save Web Mail messages to my computer?

A lot of users have asked about saving or copying messages from Web Mail to their computer, particularly the Sent copies that are in Web Mail. Some users want to know how to just save a single message as a file (which is easy to do) and others want to know how to move messages in bulk just to free up their online storage space. We can do that too.
There are several ways to accomplish this, but first it is important to understand the difference between accessing your mailbox via Web Mail, or via any other email software like Outlook Express, EarthLink Mailbox, Apple Mail, etc. The two main advantages of using Web Mail are that you can access your mailbox from any browser on any computer, and you don’t have to install or configure any software. All messages are stored on the server and you just view them using your browser. With any email software installed on your computer (called POP software or a POP client) you are downloading the messages to your own computer hard drive, and then viewing and managing the local copies on your own computer. Some advantages of this are that you can view or compose messages while offline, and your storage space is only limited by the size of your hard drives.
When you use both Web Mail and other email software, understand that the only folder in Web Mail that is accessible by your other email software is the Inbox. This isn’t a limitation created by EarthLink; it is just how the POP protocol works with all email software. POP software (Outlook, etc.) has no concept of online folders, and can only download messages from the online Inbox to your computer. Then once you have the messages on your computer, obviously you can sort and store them in local folders.
If you aren’t completely clear on how Web Mail and other email software access your mailbox differently and how they can work together if you use both, then please read this FAQ for more information. It’s essential to understand that part first.

Continue reading

Sending more than three attachments at one time

Web Mail currently limits you to adding three file attachments to a message, using the three entry boxes at the bottom of the compose view. We are working on updating that feature to remove this limitation. In the meantime, user Jack Sweitzer has come up with a very clever way to work around the limit, that doesn’t require using zip files (as I’ve suggested before).


Posted by: JACK SWEITZER | December 16, 2007 11:19 PM
Someone asked, on Dec 5, 2007: “Can’t you remove the 3 attachment limit on the “write message” dialog box? This is a real nuisance. I often need to include more attachments!”
Until this is changed, I found a way around it. First, post your three attachments in the boxes provided, and then save to Draft. Next, re-open your draft message . . . your three attachments will show above as attachments, and your three boxes for adding attachments will be empty, allowing you to add three more. Continue until all your attachments are added. I recently did it for 10. The only problem is, if the sequence of attachments is important, you’ll need to add them in reverse order; that is, say you have 9 items to attach: start with #7-9, then 4-6, then 1-3.

Thanks for the tip!

Help with Address Book import

We have a new help page for some common problems that occur when trying to import contacts from a CSV file in to Web Mail.
Importing Contacts – Troubleshooting
We’re working on making the import feature more robust and easier to use, and particularly on providing more helpful error messages when things go wrong. In the meantime, if you are having trouble then the suggestions at the link above may help.

Setting your default login and logout page

In case you haven’t been following recent releases, there are some new options to control the default page shown on login and after logout.
To set the first page you see after login, click Preferences / Web Mail Options and use this setting:
loginpref.gif
To set the destination page for after you log out, click Preferences / Web Mail Options (while logged in) and use this setting:
logoutpref.gif
Be sure to click Save when you’re done.